Skip to content

The Secret to 1000’s of Followers….

August 31, 2009

I was re-tweeted multiple times the other day after posting the following:

“How to gain 1000s of twitter followers! Just be real, stay cool, & stop using BS widgets to make yourself popular!”twitter_bird_follow_me__Small__bigger

I have to say that this wasn’t MY original tweet.. I RT’d my friend Robert Casanova (@theh2hproject) .. but the message was such that many many people agreed and passed it along.  Definitely struck a chord.

Apparently there are still some that think whoever has the most followers wins (*cough* Ashton Kutcher *cough*)  But here’s the thing that some people really don’t seem to “get” about Twitter, Facebook and social media in general.. It isn’t all about the numbers.  I KNOW!  SHOCKING!

It’s about actually connecting and having relationships.  If you don’t actually have conversations with these people, what’s the point of it all?

Therefore, I spent some time yesterday “culling the herd”. 

Unfollowing.  Un-friending.

It had to be done.

“It’s not me, it’s you.” 

I had to break it off with a few of them.  Looking through who had recently started following me on Twitter, I realized that some were not people that I had any interest in following (or not people at all for that matter..) and so deleted or blocked as the case may be.

Sorry, but I have no interest in learning about buddy’s MLM scam  business… nor do I wish to view anyone’s webcam.. and my teeth are quite white already, thanks.

Aside from the usually spamminess that was purged I also stopped following a few people for various reasons.

If I reply to something you’ve tweeted and you can’t be bothered to EVER respond, that’s a monologue, not a dialogue. We are not interacting.  See ya.

Only talking about your biz offering and all that you can do for me.. thanks but no thanks. Bye.

If all you ever have to say are quotes by someone else or just RT’ing everything.. appreciate the thought but…. you are not enthralling. Just sayin’.

And if you’re some guy who’s major interest in Twitter is hitting on women in a not-so-subtle manner.. again, not interested dude. Feel free to check out POF or Lavalife.. that’s what it’s there for.

The bottom line is.. if it’s all about communication, community and connections.. I’ll go for quality,  over quantity.

You can keep your  1000’s of followers. I like real relationships and conversations much better.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 11:29 pm

    Thank you for *catching up* and writing this post. It’s really a never-ending point of discussion, isn’t?

    People who just don’t get will never get it, but then again, it’s a matter of choice how people use social media for themselves…so what I’m saying is, it’s not about who’s right or wrong, it’s truly about what works or not work for each individual.

    I totally get it…and I am so glad I did because I am so fortunate to have made a connection with you!

    Connection+Cultivation=Relationship based on value.

    • Beth Warren permalink
      September 1, 2009 9:04 am

      Yes, it seems no matter how many times you talk connection, there are some who still look at it as a “get rich quick” situation. *sigh*

      I, too, am very happy we’ve connected Henie!

  2. September 1, 2009 9:01 am

    So, does this mean that you don’t want to hook up for a romantic weekend getaway in Buffalo? How about those pics I’ve been asking you for… Are they out too? That doesn’t seem fair. I sent you mine.

    I can’t say I’m not shocked and disappointed Beth. I thought we had something special.

    • Beth Warren permalink
      September 1, 2009 9:05 am

      Oh Jon!

      You know I wasn’t talking about you… besides, we’ll always have Barrie….
      XOXOX

  3. September 1, 2009 10:14 am

    Hey Beth,

    B-R-I-L-L-I-A-N-T post! The spam scam and scrammers are abound on the social networking channels and like in real life we must do our best to navigate around the useless noise.

    Hightlights for me: dialogue not monologue and quality over quanity.

    Thanks for sharing!

    @knealemann

    p.s. If you are going to invade my space with an unsolicited DM, how about actually having “thousands of followers” before you set your bot on “spam” #fail #block #delete

    • Beth Warren permalink
      September 1, 2009 11:05 am

      Thanks for the kind words Kneale!

      It’s tough enough to find the time to read all you want and connect with whom you wish without wasting time slogging your way through all the garbage.

  4. Jeff Soltysiak permalink
    September 1, 2009 2:51 pm

    Well put Beth. There’s always a few out there abusing systems for their own ends. It’s like a garden… takes a little effort to weed out what you don’t want. But you’re left with the good stuff.

    • Beth Warren permalink
      September 1, 2009 5:12 pm

      Oooh! I like the garden analogy. A lovely one.. thanks so much Jeff!

  5. Bryan Harris permalink
    September 1, 2009 6:05 pm

    This was very well said and I do wish that there would be those who would read it and really stop to ponder how they tweet etc. But then again..some just don’t get it. I will never understand the hoards of Tweeters who will simply offer quotes all freaking day long. I am probably less professional than I should be, but it is as much a social outlet for me as it is a place to do any form of self-promotion.

    Good post!

  6. Beth Warren permalink
    September 1, 2009 8:54 pm

    Thanks Bryan! Appreciate the encouragement!

  7. September 3, 2009 9:23 am

    awesome post. of to tweet it.

  8. September 3, 2009 9:23 am

    that should totally have read…OFF to tweet it.

    • Beth Warren permalink
      September 6, 2009 2:24 am

      so happy you liked it! I like to rant.. it’s my thing.. haha

  9. September 9, 2014 9:46 pm

    Good web site you have got here.. It’s difficult to find high quality writing like yours nowadays.

    I really appreciate individuals like you!

    Take care!!

Leave a Reply

