Skip to content

Is Bad Publicity better than NO Publicity? (What a 3 year old, Kanye and Joe Wilson have in Common…)

September 14, 2009

“The only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about.” — Oscar Wilde

When my son was about 3 he had a horribly annoying habit of swearing.

I refuse to post a picture of Kanye. Plus, Taylor Swift is much prettier.

I refuse to post a picture of Kanye. Plus, Taylor Swift is much prettier.

He unfortunately learned the “F word” from his father (not to say that I’m not known for being a bit of a potty mouth myself..) and once my boy realized the power he had with this word, he proceeded to use it whenever possible to get the biggest possible reaction.  He specifically enjoyed using it to torment his father, who would FREAK OUT when the boy swore.

On one specific occasion, my lovely son and I were at church when the boy broke free and ran full tilt to the altar with me chasing after him like an idiot (the boy has always been fast.. he’s on the track team after all).  I grabbed him on the altar, just as he turned to the packed house and just managed to utter.. “F…” my hand went over his mouth before he could get out the other three letters.

Father Charlie made a joke about how cute kids are (if he only knew….) and I hoisted the boy outside.

Unfortunately, I was not at the VMA’s on Sunday night and therefore wasn’t able to provide this same service to Kanye West.

Here’s the thing… the boy liked to say the “F word” because it provoked a reaction… and he would suddenly be the centre of the universe. And he has always liked attention — good or bad.  As long as you’re talking about him, you’re still talking about him. This is called being an attention whore.

His father and I would argue about this. He would get very angry with the boy whenever he said something inappropriate. I, on the other hand, would calmly tell him that it wasn’t very nice to do such things and have little or no reaction.  The boy didn’t swear at me.. but he did at his dad.

Think about it… were we all talking about Kanye West a couple of days ago?  If he hadn’t been so rude to the incredibly cute Taylor Swift, would we be talking about him today? No. What about Joe Wilson? Did most of us even know who he was before he called Obama a liar?  Were either of these guys “trending” on Twitter?

Not so much.

They can both go ahead and claim they were caught up in the moment, got all emotional or even they were hepped up on goofballs.  Bottom line is, now they are “news”.  Bad publicity is still publicity.

Wilson’s received over a million in campaign donations since his outburst. It will be interesting to see what effect Kanye’s little stunt has on his public image.  Either way, they are both in the news and hot topics.

Sure, you can argue “free speech” (I’m all for it with the background in journalism and all..) but there’s a time and a place for everything. And interrupting someone’s acceptance speech to “speak your mind” certainly isn’t the place nor the time. I just can’t help but feel that both of them were being somewhat manipulative and acting like attention whores….  or kind of like 3 year olds.

I tweeted this earlier today: “I refuse to tweet about that rude man on the VMAs. I refuse to help him trend. That’ll show him”… After all, if I’m not going to reward a 3 year old with “bad” attention, why would I reward a grown man who ACTS like a 3 year old?

Mind you, I guess I just did by posting this…

p.s. Rec’d the following tweet from @wordpost : @beth_warren Hey Beth, thanks for your latest post about that guy who did that thing at the VMAs. I’m still chewing through the irony.  I KNOW! I struggled with whether to add to the circus or not. …yes, I understand the irony..

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark permalink
    September 14, 2009 4:57 pm

    Personally, I think your 3 year old has a lot to say to Kanye. What a douche.

  2. Karen permalink
    September 15, 2009 12:17 pm

    I can’t believe that a grown man would do such a thing. Talk about self centred!
    And I. too appreciate the irony that you’ve posted about not posting.. hahaha

Leave a Reply

