Skip to content

LinkedIn is Using Your Profile Pic

August 11, 2011

LinkedIn users are annoyed that the company has decided to “opt in” it’s 100 million members into their social advertising program.

The social network unveiled a new social advertising campaign that has a twist – it’s using members profile information to customize the ads.  Or as LinkedIn referred to it in their blog “Ads enhanced by the power of your network”.

 

When a LinkedIn user sees a third-party ad on the site, they will see the names and profile pictures of any of their connections who have followed or recommended that company or brand.  The thought process being that consumers are more likely to click on an ad “recommended” by a friend.  The issue here, though, is that LinkedIn users weren’t asked if they’d like to endorse these various brands or companies.  LinkedIn just set it up, and users must “opt out” if they don’t want their picture popping up alongside ads.  LinkedIn is accessing their users’ private information in order to sell more ads.

In order to change your privacy settings so that YOUR picture isn’t popping up on your friends’ pages you have to take a few of steps to disable it.

First, go to your user name in the top right hand corner of your LinkedIn page and hover over it until “settings” comes up (1), then click it.  On the Settings page, click ‘Account’. On the Account tab, click ‘Manage Social Advertising’ (2). Uncheck the box next to “LinkedIn may use my name, photo in social advertising” (3). then click the save button.  This will take you out of the social advertising campaign, and protect your privacy.

Advertisements
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: